[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4692: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3823)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4694: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3823)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4695: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3823)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4696: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3823)
8devices Community :: View topic - Standalone wifi AP with 2 eth ports acting as a "switch"
8devices Community
https://www.8devices.com/community/

Standalone wifi AP with 2 eth ports acting as a "switch"
https://www.8devices.com/community/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=105
Page 1 of 1

Author:  ssozonoff [ 22 May 2012, 19:26 ]
Post subject:  Standalone wifi AP with 2 eth ports acting as a "switch"

Hi Guys,

I have been banging my head around and can't quite get it to work.

I would like to use the Carambola + Dev board as a standalone access point + 2 port switch. Basically a single network using both the Ethernet ports + the Wifi. In addition to a DHCP server handing out the IP's. In a way I guess its a Bridged AP with a DHCP server ??

I have tried all sorts of variations based on what I have read and cant seem to get it to work. As a bonus I need multicast support.

Any pointers most welcome.

Thanks,
Serge

Author:  shadow-caster [ 09 Nov 2012, 03:03 ]
Post subject:  Re: Standalone wifi AP with 2 eth ports acting as a "switch"

Any luck with this setup? I am looking to do the same thing.

If so can you post your configs?

Thanks

Author:  fwtdotfr [ 09 Nov 2012, 10:00 ]
Post subject:  Re: Standalone wifi AP with 2 eth ports acting as a "switch"

to act as AP with DHCP server:
/etc/config/network
config interface 'loopback'
option ifname 'lo'
option proto 'static'
option ipaddr '127.0.0.1'
option netmask '255.0.0.0'

config switch
option name 'rt305x'
option reset '1'
option enable_vlan '1'

config switch_vlan
option device 'rt305x'
option vlan '1'
option ports '1 2 3 4 6t'

config switch_vlan
option device 'rt305x'
option vlan '2'
option ports '0 6t'

config interface 'lan'
option ifname 'eth0.2 eth0.1'
option proto 'static'
option type 'bridge'
option ipaddr '192.168.1.2'
option netmask '255.255.255.0'
option gateway '192.168.1.1'
option dns '8.8.8.8'

/etc/config/dhcp
config dhcp 'lan'
option interface 'lan'
option start '100'
option limit '150'
option leasetime '12h'
option ignore '0'


to act as AP + dhcp client
/etc/config/network
config interface 'loopback'
option ifname 'lo'
option proto 'static'
option ipaddr '127.0.0.1'
option netmask '255.0.0.0'

config switch
option name 'rt305x'
option reset '1'
option enable_vlan '1'

config switch_vlan
option device 'rt305x'
option vlan '1'
option ports '1 2 3 4 6t'

config switch_vlan
option device 'rt305x'
option vlan '2'
option ports '0 6t'

config interface 'lan'
option ifname 'eth0.2 eth0.1'
option proto 'dhcp'
option type 'bridge'


/etc/config/dhcp
config dhcp 'lan'
option interface 'lan'
option start '100'
option limit '150'
option leasetime '12h'
option ignore '1'

Author:  schueler-maroldt [ 16 Nov 2012, 11:53 ]
Post subject:  Re: Standalone wifi AP with 2 eth ports acting as a "switch"


Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/